As you may know, The Police are doing a little bit of a tour, makeing a stop at Fenway Park this summer. I was pretty excited…For a while I really hated going to concerts, but I’ve always said that the only concert I ever really wanted to go to was if The Police got back together. (In the past 2 years, though, I’ve seen U2 at the Fleet Center and Dave Matthews Band at Fenway. All I could hear at both of them was a dial tone, becuase they were off the hook!)

So when I learned The Police were doing some shows, I was pretty psyched to see them. And to top it off, they were playing at Fenway Park…one of my favorite places in the world. Sounds great, right?

Wrong. The problem with Fenway, and part of its allure, is that it is really small for a baseball park. It only holds about 35,000 people. But we got tickets to Dave Matthews, so I thought we had a chance to get these tickets. So we (my sister Kim and I) decided that we would shell out the $55 each for the junk seats…the next seats up were $95, no thanks. The tickets went on sale at 10:00 this morning, and we were both waiting on Ticketmaster. I got through by 10:01, and was thinking “Great…this is going to be easier than I thought”. It took us nearly 3 hours to get through to try to get Red Sox tickets a few months ago. So I put in for 4 tickets in the best available $55 seats. Nothing available. 3 tickets. Nothing available. 2 seats. Nothing available. What am I supposed to do, go alone? There’s gonna be a stadium full of 35,000 people who don’t know even each other.

Then I look on ebay, and there are tons of tickets available….for $800! $800 for 4 seats! C’mon…who can afford that? What’s with these stupid scalpers buying tickets and selling them at an astronomical price? And how do they get these tickets before they even go on sale? Complete BS.
Well, I guess I can just hope that it becomes available on BitTorrent or CD like the DMB show did.

“I wasn’t like every other kid, you know, who dreams about being an astronaut, I was always more interested in what bark was made out of on a tree. Richard Gere’s a real hero of mine. Sting. Sting would be another person who’s a hero. The music he’s created over the years, I don’t really listen to it, but the fact that he’s making it, I respect that. ”

-Hansel, Zoolander

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

