Switching to a Mac

If you’re a facebook friend or someone I talk to at all, you know that I recently acquired an Apple MacBook.  I don’t have a lot of time to write everything I’d like to about switching from a Windows desktop to an Apple laptop, but I’d thought I’d share a few things for now…some I like and some I dislike.

  •  I like the fact the the help menus are helpful.  I was working on a presentation in Keynote to get familiar with it and had some trouble setting some indented bullet points where I wanted.  I pulled up the help menu, typed “bullets” and got a list:  5 choices, with an additional 11 hidden.  Within two more clicks I had the information I needed and was all set.  For comparison, I opened the same slide in Power Point and searched for “bullets” again.  30 results appeared with 4 more “Other places to look”.  After clicking on 2 or 3 results, I had still not found what I was looking for and had been brought to another page with 4 more suggestions, which was all of the data I needed for this little experiment.  Point being:  the Apple applications have useful help files, which is important to me right now since I have little experience with Mac Applications.
  • Bad thing:  I’m extremely frustrated with the network connection.  It was really easy to set up, but I am constantly getting error messages in my web browsers (both safari and firefox) about not being able to connect to a page.  Usually turning off and on the AirPort does the trick, but sometimes it doesn’t and I can’t figure out why.  I know it’s not the web page because either I can reach it on my desktop or it comes right up after resetting the connection, and I don’t think it’s a network problem because we never had this issue with our old windows laptop.  For some reason, this thing has a mind of its own when connecting to the ol’ webbernet.  Really frustrating.  
  • Bad thing:  I don’t like that you can only resize a window from the lower right corner.  Windows allows resizing from any corner and any edge of a window, which is really convenient for quick resizing, end even more so when using a touch pad.  Also, the + button never does what I think it’s gonna do. Maximizing the window size has been a pain to get used to.
  • Good thing (this is what we call a compliment sandwich): I didn’t think I would, but the way that OS X handles the menu bar is really nice.  I thought I’d prefer having the menu toolbars always attached to the window, but I’m finding it much more visually appealing to have one tool bar in a constant location.  (This could be an issue with, say a 24″ monitor, but on on the laptop, or even a 20″ monitor the OS X style toolbar is really nice).  It really cleans up the look of everything.   
Overall, I am very very happy with the MacBook, partly because I am really enjoying having a laptop around again, but mostly just because the MacBook is really a pleasure to use.  I’m sure I could write a lot more, but I’ve got to get back to Keynote and finish my presentation.  Over and out.
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Switching to a Mac

  1. aintgotno

    once you go mac, you never go back..

Leave a Reply

