Macbook me

Somebody please buy me a new macbook for my birthday.  I’m turning 29.  Please….you can all chip in if you want to.  It doesn’t even have to be a pro (although that would be preferable).

Not sure I understand this aluminum thing though…yeah, machining something out of a solid block of aluminum produces, theoretically, a more solid, robust part with a better finish.  But not really…and it can just as easily be machined from a cast part for about 1/10th the cost.  (I could make a pretty sturdy house out of a giant block of aluminum too, but it would run me about 14 trillion dollars.)   13 machining processes for one part is a ton of waste from a manufacturing point of view. Not sure how they’re convincing the accounting department to pay for this (yes I do…it’s why the macbook is $1299 instead of $1099) , and I don’t know why they’re boasting about this…I think the folks at Toyota would be fired for even thinking about suggesting this.  But on the other hand, if they are keeping the cost about the same, or only slightly higher, for a much better product I guess it’s reasonable.  And I’ll be damned if it doesn’t look awesome.  Check out the video if you haven’t already.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Macbook me

  1. Your wife

    You’d kill me if I broke this one!

  2. Kim

    And I’d love a new computer too, for my birthday!

  3. The Boss

    To my wife: yes.
    To Kim: no.

  4. Matt the Scrap guy

    Why stop at aluminum? If you machined your house out of 316SST, you’d be tornado-proof!!! Plus, spilling orange juice on your house would just make it last longer! BONUS!

Leave a Reply

